Review: Crow Mountain by Lucy Inglis

 

25841943
Image from Goodreads

Title: Crow Mountain
Author: Lucy Inglis
Publisher: Chicken House
Publication Date: Sept 2015
Source: Review Copy
Rating: 3/5

Synopsis from Goodreads

While on holiday in Montana, Hope meets local boy Cal Crow, a ranch hand. Caught in a freak accident, the two of them take shelter in a mountain cabin where Hope makes a strange discovery. More than a hundred years earlier, another English girl met a similar fate. Her rescuer: a horse-trader called Nate.

In this wild place, both girls learn what it means to survive and to fall in love, neither knowing that their fates are intimately entwined.

REVIEW BY IMOGEN – YEAR 11

Crow Mountain is the perfect combination of romance and adventure, the chapters alternate between the story of Emily and Nate, who live in 19th Century Montana and Cal and Hope, who live in 21st century Montana. Emily is from London and making the long journey to get married but is involved in an accident, only to be  rescued by Nate. Hope is on holiday in Montana and stays with the Crow family where she meets Cal. Cal and Hope discover the diary of Emily and as the reader finds out about the life of Emily and Nate, Cal and Hope find out at the same time. They begin to realise that the events are interlinked and history is repeating itself- but can Cal and Emily cheat fate?

Despite the constant flipping back and forth between the time periods Crow Mountain did not prove a difficult book to follow, Lucy Inglis ended each ‘chapter’ leaving me with a sense of anticipation and suspense.

The book is aimed primarily at teenagers as it does contain some adult themes and expletives.  However, not only is the story line interesting and engaging but I thoroughly enjoyed reading the descriptions of the scenes and characters which I thought were just perfect.

I thought Lucy Inglis established the characters very well and the detailed descriptions made them seem quite relatable.  The book incorporates quite a lot of spoken dialogue this made it appear more realistic and added to the excitement and suspense.

My favourite aspect about the book was that it followed a very unique story line and it was not predictable, I think this really kept me engaged. The ending of the book particularly surprised me as I did not expect it to follow this sort of conclusion. I am still unsure about how I feel about the ending of the book, personally, perhaps I would have liked to have seen a more positive outcome. Although, if the outcome where different than the message of the book would not be as fitting.

If I were to be critical of the book the story line featured many different elements personally, I think certain aspects where a little unnecessary and I would have preferred a more simplistic approach with a couple less twists and turns. For this reason I preferred the ‘chapters’ on Nate and Emily as their story line appeared more plausible.

I would like to read other books by this author as I thought the characterisation and descriptions were excellent. I would give the book a 3 out of 5 as I think the way in which the events were entwined was a very unique story line. However, I did feel that there were certain part of the book that were slightly too long-winded. I would recommend this book as I also thought the overall message of the book was heartwarming and gave it a nice touch.

Leave a Reply

