Review; Alex as Well by Alyssa Brugman

Recommendations, Resources, Review
Image from Goodreads
Author: Alyssa Brugman
Publisher: Curious Fox
Publication Date: May 2014
Source: Review Copy
Rating: 4/5
Synopsis from Goodreads
What do you do when everybody says you’re someone you’re not?
Alex wants change. Massive change. More radical than you could imagine.
Her mother is not happy, in fact she’s imploding. Her dad walked out.
Alex has turned vegetarian, ditched one school, enrolled in another, thrown out her clothes. And created a new identity. An identity that changes her world.
And Alex—the other Alex—has a lot to say about it.
Alex As Well is a confronting and heartfelt story of adolescent experience—of questioning identity, discovering sexuality, navigating friendships and finding a place to belong. Alex is a strong, vulnerable, confident, shy and determined character, one you will never forget.
With the same tenderness and insight as YA stars such as John Green and David Levithan, Alyssa Brugman has crafted a knockout story about identity, sexuality and family that speaks effortlessly to a universal teen experience.


REVIEW BY LILY 8:3 (2014/15)

I have just finished reading Alex as Well, a controversial read filled with emotion. I have been reading this book over the course of 6 weeks and have been engrossed in it every time I pick it up.
The book is about Alex, who is known as a boy to Alex’s parents and Alex has to take tablets to pursue Alex’s life as a boy. However, Alex knows that inside there is a feeling that identifies ‘him’ as a girl. Alex stops taking the tablets and finally feels right, but then there are Alex’s parents. They feel that Alex should be a boy and that Alex is not old enough to make his own decisions, but Alex know what’s right. Alex decides that she should move schools, where she falls in love with the beautiful Amina. There’s also Ty, who thinks that Alex is beautiful. Alex just doesn’t feel the same.
I thought that the characters were well-thought of but I would like to of seen more of some of the characters. For example Ty , a high school boy who I would have loved to hear more of. I feel like he would have had an interesting back story , as well as a good personality.
I think that I indemnified with Alex most as that was the main character and I really got to know the inner feelings and thoughts and also got to know what Alex thought of other people and could compare about what I thought about them. I really like the fact that the book gives you an insight on transgender, and what they are really going through and not just what you imagine. I think the fact the book is so controversial that it almost makes it more interesting, or at least makes you want to read on to discover what the characters whimsical but imaginative minds decide to do.
I think I would definitely read a book by the author again because she has an interesting way of writing , which makes your mind instantly love the characters way of thinking. I have already recommended this book to a couple of family members and friends , as I think it would fit their style of reading perfectly. Controversial yet the most interesting and emotional book ever. However, I do think that the book should be limited to people of the age 13 or over as then they would most likely understand the things going on in the book. I think that at the very beginning of the book, it would confuse a lot of people as it confused me. Alex refers to another boy as Alex, but the author does not use speech marks around any of his/her speech. I would give this book 4 points out of 5 because overall it is an amazing read and is a real page turner but I think that there is room for minor improvements.
I think the author wrote the book in a way that made you feel as though you were there with the worried , young Alex. The settings varied from gloomy and dark , to the most beautiful of places, for example the runway or the city. I think the plot was a very real situation that lots of kids have had to go through, which almost makes it relatable. I think that when big events did happen, they were written very well and were intense and sometimes even humorous. A lot of people could learn a few things from this book, including the value of freedom. If you end up reading the book, you will know that Alex’s parents are very uncomfortable with the fact that Alex’s desire is to be a girl. Lots of people around you and me don’t have that situation and have lots of freedom, allowing them to do what they want with their lives.
My favourite part of the book was at the end , where Alex proved that she could be anything she wanted, and that she no longer cared about what most people thought of her. I think it is an inspiring story with parts that make you cry as well as parts to make you laugh out loud. I really loved this book and recommend it to anyone who like controversy and a touch of romance in books.
Leave a Reply

