Review: Fire Walker by Josephini Angelini

Fantasy, Recommendations, Review
Image from Goodreads
Title: Fire Walker
Series: The World Walker Trilogy #2
Author: Josephine Angelini
Publisher: MacMillan Childrens Books
Publication Date: August 2015
Source: Bought
Rating: 4/5
Synopsis from Goodreads
Lily Proctor has made it back to her own universe, and it’s finally time for her and Rowan to be happy and relax. True, she almost died in the Pyre that fueled their escape, and they must hide her new magic for the safety of the world, but compared to fighting the monstrous Woven and leading armies in the alternate Salem, life is looking good.
‘You think I’m a monster, but my choices, as ruthless as they seem, are justified.’
Unfortunately, Lillian, ruthless ruler of the 13 Cities, is not willing to let Lily go that easily. Lily is the closest version of herself she’s ever seen in all her worldwalking, and Lillian’s running out of time. If she can’t persuade Lily and Rowan to return to her world, she’ll have to find a way to make them come back.
Firewalker – the follow-up to Trial By Fire – is another sexy, fast-paced thrill ride from internationally bestselling author of the Starcrossed series, Josephine Angelini!

REVIEW BY CERYS 8:3

Fire Walker is the awesome sequel to Angelini’s fabulous book, Trial by Fire. Fire Walker starts on Lily waking to her hometown, (Salem, Massachusetts) after months in an alternate universe, where she discovers she is actually a witch, and meets herself (see Trial by Fire)!!!!!! She goes back to her old friends, and her home, to see her mother, who is not quite crazy!
My favourite character is Juliet, as she always tries to help out Lily, even though she is non-magical, and my favourite part is after Lily world-jumps, when she is ‘floating on a raft over a river of pain’, but I also enjoy the time when there are two Tristans (TWO TRISTANS). I enjoyed the 3rd person narrative, but I felt that perhaps Lily’s  characterisation could have benefitted from being told in first person in order to deepen the connection between reader and character. The plot was OK, but I felt it was a bit of a let-down (anti-climatic in its effect after the long wait between books, compared with Trial by Fire, but then again, it is the middle book in the series. Middle book syndrome perhaps, even though I did re-read Trial by Fire before reading Fire Walker in order to refresh my memory fully.
Josephine Angelini is ingenious at creating surprising but wonderful relationships, which I felt lacked a bit in Fire Walker, but the magical element came out a lot stronger, which she writes really well. Everything made sense, but the ending was a little strange! I would rather if Lilian got involved a little more, but I guess that will come in the third book, which I am looking forward to! For me Fire Walker evolved more into the fantasy genre; this may have been deliberate but personally it is the characters that are at the heart of the story and I would have like them to have been a little more developed.
I would recommend this series to any lovers of Angelini’s previous trilogy: Starcrossed, and lovers of Abandon by Meg Cabot, or The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter. I hope you enjoy this just as much as I did, and I look forward to the next book! 🙂
Leave a Reply

