Review: Entangled by Cat Clarke

Recommendations, Review
Image from Goodreads

Title: Entangled
Author: Cat Clarke
Publisher: Quercus
Publication Date: Jan 2011
Source: Review Copy
Rating: 4/5
Synopsis from Goodreads
The same questions whirl round and round in my head: What does he want from me? How could I have let this happen? AM I GOING TO DIE? 17-year-old Grace wakes up in a white room, with table, pens and paper – and no clue how she got there. As Grace pours her tangled life onto the page, she is forced to remember everything she’s tried to forget. There’s falling hopelessly in love with the gorgeous Nat, and the unravelling of her relationship with her best friend Sal. But there’s something missing. As hard as she’s trying to remember, is there something she just can’t see? Grace must face the most important question of all. Why is she here? A story of dangerous secrets, intense friendships and electrifying attraction.
REVIEW BY EVE 8:3
Entangled is about a girl called Grace who wakes up in a white room and has no clue how she got there. All that is in the room is a table paper chair and pen. She is forced to remember all the things she has tried so hard to forget, which turns out to be very hard for her. Everything that happened with her and her best friend, how she fell in love with Nat and all the other twisted parts of her life. Why is she there though? The story is told in the point of view from Grace which I think helps the reader understand her more as a person and connect more with her personality.
My favourite part of the book is when Sal (Grace’s best friend) is faced with a life changing event which she did not mean to happen. She has to rely on Grace; Grace has to help her, a lot. I enjoyed it because it was quite an odd situation to be in and it was interesting to see how they both coped. It seems almost like a test to see if they can pull through it together or if it will tear their friendship apart.
My favourite character in the book was Sal because at the start, she seems very sensible and organised; like she has her whole life planned out. However, as the novel unravels, you begin to see she isn’t as ‘good’ as people think. She ends up being quite a mysterious person in Entangled she is a very interesting character.
One thing I didn’t much like about the book was the amount of inappropriate situations that occurred. They all seemed to be very grown up and fairly mature for a teen’s book. I felt that the book could have been just as good without the most detailed situations it had. The situations portrayed within the plot are very mature and I felt a little inappropriate. Although the situations added to the drama in the plot as a whole.
I thought that everything was written how I expected it would turn out. All the events that happened all played out the way I wanted them to or how I predicted they would. At no point throughout the story did I hope for a different outcome.
I probably would not read a book by this author again as I didn’t much like her style of writing. I found it quite slang and just very laid back and it didn’t really draw me in. I thought it was again a bit too old for a teenager however, if the story looks like a good plot line then it’s always worth giving it a go. Although, all in all I thought Entangled did have a good plot line.
I would recommend this book to people who like the genre of romance and a little contemporary issues woven in. As Entangled was an intense story to read. It seems to be aimed more at girls than it would be at boys because of the romance. I would also recommend this book to people who like a bit of drama, as there are a lot of dramatic scenes. I would say this book is suitable to people who are about 16-24 due to the nature of the plot.
There’s a lot of mature scenes and strong language within the book,  and personally this was the main aspect that made me dislike Entangled. I would say this lets the book down quite a lot as I don’t think it was necessary. Although that type of thing may appeal to others. With this is in mind, I would give this book a 3/5 stars.
Leave a Reply

