Review: Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid

Image from Goodreads
 
Title: Let’s Get Lost
Author: Adi Alsaid
Publisher: Mira INK
Publication Date: Aug 2014
Source: Reveiw Copy
Rating: 4/5
Synopsis from Goodreads
One girl could change four lives forever…
Mysterious Leila, who is on the road trip of a lifetime, has a habit of crashing into people’s worlds at the moment they need someone the most.
There’s Hudson, who is willing to throw away his dreams for love. And Bree, a runaway who seizes every Tuesday—and a few stolen goods along the way. Elliot who believes in happy endings…until his own goes off-script. And Sonia who worries that she’s lost her ability to love.
Hudson, Bree, Elliot and Sonia find a friend in Leila. But Leila’s trip could help her discover something bigger — that sometimes, the only way to find what you’re looking for is to get lost along the way…
REVIEW BY EVE 8:1
Let’s Get Lost features five strangers whose stories collide to make one exciting journey and countless adventures.
Engaging you with it’s story line and making you fall in love with it’s characters, Let’s Get Lost tells the story of a mysterious girl named Leila. Leila’s past leaves her lost in her own world and as she travels along the road of loss, hope and love, she realises that sometimes the only way to find your yourself is to get lost.
This story is written in first person using the point of view from the five main characters; Sonia, Elliot, Bree, Hudson and Leila. The writer uses five parts to the book to help make it clearer to see each character’s story as they twist together to make a mysterious plot. The narration to the story helps you to connect with the characters because when reading the characters thoughts, you are given more information than if there was a narrator other than the characters. Also, by knowing their thoughts and secrets that they have told anyone else, this makes you feel that you know their nature better.
The title Let’s Get Lost is relevant to each of the characters individually. Every character gets lost in their own way, and then are able find what they are looking for after bumping into Leila in the most weird places and circumstances. As Leila helps them along their emotional journeys and listens to every word they have to say, Bree, Hudson, Sonia and Elliot all find a friend in Leila. Leila changes their lives forever and perhaps, on her incredible cross-country trip, she will find what she is looking for after all.
My favourite part of the story was the ending, because this is where you find out about Leila’s background and where she came from. All through the book Leila thinks about everyone else’s problems rather than her own. Her kindness draws people to her, allowing Leila to see her future path clearly, she  realizes where she is meant to be.
My favourite character is Leila herself, not just because she is the main character but because she is so brave in facing her past and searching for her own happy ending. Leila puts other people’s happiness before her own and when she meets a new friend along the way she enchants them with her gentle ways and beauty, making them fall in the love with her, as I did.
I enjoyed this book mainly because it has a plot that I could believe in. I loved reading a book with a story that could actually happen. The author, Adi Alsaid explained nearly every question I had, not leaving me wondering what had happened or what happened after the character’s left the story, I was happy with the way their future had been planned,each had their  own happy ending. However, one question has stuck in my mind, I keep asking if after all Elliot went through, if he did indeed enjoy a happy ending, after his life goes off-script.
The morale that comes across in Let’s Get Lost is that sometimes, the only way to find what you’re looking for, is to just get lost along the way. This means that occasionally what you are looking for isn’t right under your nose but instead you have to stop looking for it, let yourself get lost and hope that life shows you the right path.
I found that the ending of Alsaid’s book was, to a certain extent, quite predictable as in the last couple of chapters, when things go a little wrong for Leila, you can guess how the narrative will end. My prediction about the ending was correct, but even so, it didn’t spoil my enjoyment and cause me to stop reading, I needed to know if the Leila’s life would turn out as I had hoped.
Let’s Get Lost didn’t engage my interest at first; I was a little confused about the plot because the writer didn’t describe or explain the surroundings of the characters, this made me feel that I couldn’t imagine the story. Therefore, leaving me confused and forgetting what had happened because an image hadn’t been stuck in my head.. However, as the story unfolded, it became clearer what was happening. As I got towards the end of the book I couldn’t put the book down and I read for at least two hours straight!
I would definitely read another book by Adi Alsaid, I like his style of writing and the genre this book represents. I would recommend this book to a friend. Over all I would give Let’s Get Lost 4 out of 5 stars because in the beginning of the book I didn’t find it interesting at all but then after a while the storyline picked up pace and my imagination was captivated. This book would be suitable for 13-15 year old teenage girls and possibly boys, especially fans of John Green books. I hope you get as much pleasure from this book as I did, let the thrilling plot inspires you and let yourself get lost in it’s pages and twisted storylines!
Leave a Reply

