Review: Killing Sound by Paul Southern

Recommendations, Review
Image from Goodreads
Title: Killing Sound
Author: Paul Southern
Publisher: Chicken House
Publication Date: Sept 2014
Source: Review Copy
Rating: 4/5
Synopsis from Goodreads
Jodie is cursed with a terrible gift. She just doesn’t know it yet. When she stumbles across one of her dead father’s old papers on sound waves in the attic, it sets her on a terrifying journey to find out more, leading her across the streets of London to the dark, untrodden tunnels of the Underground, where she is forced to face the truth. Her worst nightmare is about to become real. Worse, she can hear it coming.
REVIEW BY OLIVER 8:5
Killing Sound is about a girl named Jodie, who is almost eighteen years old. When she was little, she saw something horrible – something that she managed to block out of her mind. However, the memories came back haunting her; she had to stop them, while also trying to uncover the truth about her parents’ death twelve years before.
For me, the best part of the story was when Jodie found out what actually happened to her parents (nobody knew how they were killed and Jodie had to find out) because it showed how she reacts in a certain situations and it altered her point of view.
However, I didn’t particularly enjoy the romantic aspect of the plot; for me that isn’t really what I like to see in thrillers because they are supposed to be action and not romance. Apart from that Killing Sound was quite enjoyable.
My favourite character was Jodie’s best friend Luca, he was very understanding and listened to his best friend. He was very loyal and would do pretty much anything that Jodie told him to do. He was also quiet and very helpful to the other people who were in the story.
If I were to have anything changed I would like to change the ending because it is really unpredictable; I would like to see what it would be like if the ending altered. Although the way in which the plot played out was really interesting and altered your perception of the events witnessed within the plot.
I would love to read another book by the author, Paul Southern. I found Killing Sound to have an engaging storyline that kept my attention throughout.  I did not get bored (that is saying something as I easily get bored with most books) because it had an interesting plot. It was also easy to read and understand the story.
I would recommend this book to others and I would probably recommend it to thirteen to fourteen year olds because it has some bad language in it. Apart from that it is a really good book without the use of bad language it would be suitable for a lower age group as well.
I would rate this book four out of five stars; I would recommend it to anyone looking for an engaging thriller.
Leave a Reply

