Review: Naked by Kevn Brooks

Image from Goodreads
 
Title: Naked
Author: Kevin Brooks
Publisher: Penguin UK
Publication Date: 2011
Rating: 4/5
Synopsis from Goodreads
London, 1976: a summer of chaos, punk, love . . . and the boy they called Billy the Kid.
It was the summer of so many things. Heat and violence, love and hate, heaven and hell. It was the time I met William Bonney – the boy from Belfast known as Billy the Kid.
I’ve kept William’s secrets for a long time, but now things have changed and I have to tell the truth. But I can’t begin until I’ve told you about Curtis Ray. Hip, cool, rebellious Curtis Ray. Without Curtis, there wouldn’t be a story to tell.
It’s the story of our band, of life and death . . . and everything in between.
REVIEW BY ARTHUR 8:8
I was completely engrossed from the very first page: The story starts off with a woman, Lili, looking back on the year 1967 and what later followed. This is the time where she met two people that changed her life: Will and Curtis. Curtis was always known to be the rebellious bad boy at school. Everyone loved him, wanted to be like him or be with him. And so, it came a great surprise to Lili, when she got asked to audition for his band ‘NAKED’ even though she had no prior experience in Punk/Rock bands. From here on, the real story unfolds as we get dragged through Lili’s life through her eyes.
Lili is a realistic character. I really like her. She does have flaws and so do the other characters but, that’s what really defines them and makes them who they are. When Lili first saw Curtis, he seemed like a pretty decent guy. I don’t like him at all! I have to say I love his band and music. The lyrics are okay. But, sometimes they do get pretty weird.  They all do drugs (apart from Lili) which is rather off putting and in the story they treat doing drugs and living on road as a good thing and that could encourage people who have read this to pursue the same way in life as Curtis. I really don’t care (much) especially when Will came into the picture. Yeah, I think that pretty much sums it up. He’s plain awesome!
What I really really loved about Naked was how something interesting was always going on making it entirely engrossing. It’s like one thing after another. You’re tossed and turned into this fabulous world. Ideally, Naked is not your average read. It’s tough, gritty and very edgy. Like, the ending! What can I possibly say? I knew it was coming, you could just tell but I didn’t want to accept it.
Leave a Reply

