Review: The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Waker

Image from Goodreads

Title: The Age of Miracles
Author: Karen Thompson Walker
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Source: Review Copy
Rating: 4/5
Synopsis from Goodreads
‘Maybe everything that had happened to me and my family had nothing at all to do with the slowing. It’s possible, I guess. But I doubt it. I doubt it very much.

One Saturday morning the world wakes to discover that the rotation of the earth has begun to slow. As birds fall from the sky and days grow longer, people start to flee – but there is nowhere on earth to escape to.

Julia is already coping with the disasters of everyday life. And then there’s Seth: tall and quiet and always on his own; the skateboarding boy who knows all about disaster. As the world faces a catastrophe, Julia and Seth are facing their very own unknown.
REVIEW BY CERYS 7:3
The Age of Miracles is a great book about the slowing of the earth’s spin. Including romance and thrills, ‘The Age of Miracles’ describes human nature in a completely different way, showing the main things we rely on are often taken for granted. Julia- the main character is caught up in all the effects of this, and realises just how much she relies on.
My favourite character has to be Seth, with his quiet nature and good looks, and my favourite part is when Seth first speaks to Julia, because you can really feel empathetic towards both of them, but especially Julia. I also really liked Julia’s dad, and how he is a daredevil! I really liked the POV from Julia, showing all her feelings, mistakes, and secrets, and the plot was interesting, showing just what some people’s expectations are.
Karen Thompsom Walker is great at displaying emotion through the character’s mistakes, and she explains all the situations in good detail. She creates an understandable plot relating to things that could happen on earth, so we can really understand what situation the characters are in, and feel empathy towards them. Everything made sense, but the ending was rather unpredictable! In my opinion, it would be better if more loose ends were tied up, and not as many relationships were broken. Nevertheless, it was a great read all the same.
I would compare this book to Scott Westerfield’s book Uglies, as it is the same sort of ‘whole world disaster’ type plot, although there are fewer deaths. I would definitely recommend this book to YA readers, or lovers of Uglies, or Divergent. I’d also love to read more of Karen Thompson Walker’s books, as I love the way she writes.
All in all, I thought The Age of Miracles is a great book, and I hope Karen does more of these books, as everything in The Age of Miracles is amazing! :)
Leave a Reply

