Review: Unravel by Imogen Howson

Image from Goodreads
Title: Unravel
Series: Linked #2
Author: Imogen Howson
Publisher: Quercus
Publication Date: July 2014
Rating: 3.5/5
Synopsis from Goodreads
In a world far from our own, Lissa has exposed a dangerous secret.
Captive twins, known as Spares, have been the subjects of dark government experiments. And Lissa’s own twin was one of their first victims.
Running for their lives, Lissa and Lin discover another rebel faction of twins, and they believe they’ve found allies at last. But a terrifying threat they could never have expected is waiting in the shadows…
Can Lissa protect Lin in a world that wants to destroy her?
REVIEW BY SARAH 9:2
Unravel is a sequel to LINKED. I loved the book linked, it really drew you in and the characters were really relatable.
Untold dangers await the telepathic twins in this sequel to the romantic, futuristic, thriller. The two twins called Elissa and Lin, head back to their planet (Sekoia) to help fix the problems they caused. Although, when the girls and the crew reached Sekoia they find the planet a very different place. Taken to safe houses along with other spares and twins like them but there are worse things happening outside.
I liked this book very much although I found it a bit repetitive, the plot sometimes felt like it was going back and forth without actually drawing you in or making you want to know what happens. On the contrary, I felt that this book does a very good job of continuing the story on from the first book.
The story of Elissa and Cadan carries on, but I would of liked to see a bit more intimacy and a bit more of a connection between them. It felt like Elissa was always blaming herself for why Cadan was being distant and she was always putting herself down. In the narrative, she thinks she is dead weight but she is really intelligent and strong. Elissa is my favourite character in this book because I felt I could make more of a connection with her and understand her feelings.
Overall, I enjoyed this book thoroughly. At the end I rushed it a little bit but I would recommend taking it slow and reading it all through to the end otherwise, it could get a little confusing. I didn’t like how much narration there was because I ended up skipping parts of the book because I felt that I had to.
I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who liked the first book but also to anyone that likes a book with a little excitement in it.
Leave a Reply

